Plano Chamber Honors Community Leaders at Best of Plano 2020

posted on

Originally published by Plano Magazine | Dec. 8, 2020

by Hunter Lacey

On Dec. 9, the Plano Chamber of Commerce will honor its 2020 Best of Plano award winners. The event is sponsored by Medical City Plano and will be streamed live from the Rodenbaugh Theatre at North Texas Performing Arts. Chamber members are invited to reserve a ticket to watch remotely; there will be no in-person audience.

Jeri Chambers, Citizen of the Year Award

Citizen of the Year, the Chamber’s highest honor, will be given to Jeri Chambers. She is the donor relations officer for the Communities Foundation of Texas. Jeri worked for 12 years as an educator, including eight years as a Plano ISD teacher, and now serves on the Plano ISD School Board, Plano ISD Education Foundation Board, and the Junior League of Collin County.

Nancy Humphrey, ATHENA Leadership Award

Nancy Humphrey will receive the ATHENA Leadership Award, presented annually to an accomplished Plano businesswoman. Nancy serves on the Plano ISD Board of Trustees, working as a liaison to the City of Richardson and Plano ISD Council of PTAs.

Sara Bonser, Business Executive of the Year

Business Executive of the Year will go to Sara Bonser, superintendent for Plano ISD. Sara has shown phenomenal leadership during the pandemic, working nonstop to ensure safety and quality education for students, teachers and school staff.

Carol Davis, Small Business Person of the Year

Small Business Person of the Year will go to Carol Davis of Crave Popcorn Co. This gift shop was opened in 2014 and has since become a beloved local business. Crave is a Certified Plano Green Business, won Best Gourmet Grocery from WFAA in 2016, and Best Place to Grab A Quick Snack from Plano Magazine in 2018 and 2019.

Rachel Yzaguirre, Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award will go to Rachel Yzaguirre. This award goes to young professional who is successfully serving the Plano community through their career. Rachel is the Community Outreach Librarian for the City of Plano, and has been a member of the Young Professionals of Plano Executive Committee for four years, including two years as chair.

Duncan Webb, Distinguished Leadership Award

Duncan Webb will be the recipient of the Leadership Plano’s 2020 Distinguished Leadership Award. This award was originally scheduled to be given in April, but the ceremony was canceled in light of the pandemic. Commissioner Webb has served on the Regional Transportation Council, the Dallas Regional Mobility Council, Plano ISD Board of Trustees and Medical City Plano Board.

The North Texas Food Bank (NTFB) will be the recipient of the Special Award of Merit in recognition of its service to residents facing food insecurity due to the COVID-19 health crisis. As of October, NTFB had served more than 103,000 households throughout the pandemic.

The Innovator Award will go to Capital One for reimagining the car-buying experience technologically and analytically with Auto Navigator. Auto Navigator provides a digital inventory of millions of cars across the nation, making the car selection process much easier.

Medical City Plano (MCP) will receive the Outstanding Corporate Citizen of the Year. The hospital has continued to provide high quality medical care to patients while maintaining a focus on giving back and supporting the community. Last year, MCP donated $1.5 million in charitable contributions and public service.

Community Partner of the Year will go to Plano ISD Education Foundation. The foundation bridges gaps for economically disadvantaged students, supports academic programs in science and math and provides grants to innovative teaching programs.