Hall of Honor



Powerhouse, trailblazer, and dynamic reformer, the Honorable Florence Shapiro won the 2013 Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award from the Association of Junior Leagues International Inc. (AJLI).

The Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award celebrates a woman of outstanding leadership in The Junior League who has used her talents and resources to improve the social and economic conditions of others and who exemplifies The Junior League Mission and Vision. She has made a positive impact in her League and her community, and her volunteer work continues in the tradition of Mary Harriman. Through advocacy, collaboration, direct service, or community education, she embraces her community and makes a unique and significant difference as a leader. This award provides a contemporary link to our founder’s sense of social responsibility, as well as her ability to encourage others to share their talents through effective volunteer service.

Annual JLCC Award Winners 2016-2017

Rebecca Kleeman
Provisionals of the Year

Monique Lee
Provisionals of the Year

Donna Ivy
Past Presidents’ Award*
Becky McKinney
Sustainer Of The Year

*Note:  The Past Presidents’ Award was created in 1981 to honor extraordinary commitment to the League. The rules for the award were created and approved in 1994 by the Past Presidents and updated in 1996 and 2013. The recipient is selected by the five most recent Past Presidents at a meeting to be held a month prior to the May President’s Dinner and Annual Meeting.

Community Awards Received by JLCC Members*

  • Seventeen Top Women of Collin County
  • Six Citizen of the Year (Plano) Awards
  • Six Athena Awards (Plano Chamber of Commerce for exceptional women leaders)
  • Seven Distinguished Leadership Award recipients (awarded by Leadership Plano)
  • Members of Leadership Plano, Leadership Allen, Leadership Frisco and Leadership McKinney
    *Community Awards section last updated November 2015